From Sept. 26, ’09: Balls and Gallery Openings, Death and Ressurrection

I don’t even know why I try, sometimes. Thought it would be nice to take a bath for a change- not because I don’t bathe, I shower!- but the hot water runs out before I can even get the tub halfway full. Psshh. So now I have to sit here and wait for another hour before I can take a shower. I was supposed to go watch a kickball tournament at the school. It started at 1:00 p.m. It is now 1:52 p.m. Bah! Not only that, I have to make a trip over to Midwest Sign to buy a couple silk screens for class. Come on, hot water! Gooo!

Speaking of silk screens, both my screen print and printmaking classes are participating in the Dĩa De Los Muertos celebration by building our own Day of the Dead altar and window display down at the Mattie Rhodes art gallery in Downtown, KC. If you don’t know where that is, it’s on 919 W. 17th Street in KC, Missouri. There will be multiple altars, so I hear, contributed by various groups and artists in the area, as well as individual pieces. The opening reception for the show will go on during First Friday, October 2nd, from 6-10p.m.. On Saturday, October 3rd, there will be a Dĩa De Los Muertos street festival from 1-9p.m., and I hear it’s pretty fun. The show itself will be up in the gallery from October 2nd to November 20, so if you’re in the area and want to check out some work by the sophomore and junior Printmaking classes of KCAI, please stop by and take a look!

On a final note, if anyone out there likes jazzy electronic music, you should definitely check out Quantic’s Apricot Morning. It’s quite snazzy.

Leave a Reply

